County Public Library
since 1938 - 2013
|| The First Library
In 1938 several women's clubs persuaded the county to refurbish the old courthouse-square jail as Odessa's first public library.
It was a small red brick covered with white stucco. It was located on the Northeast Corner of the Courthouse square.
|The Second Library|
In 1942 a new library was constructed at 622 N. Lee.
From 1943 to 1963 under librarian Velma Barrett, circulation swelled and the building expanded in 1957. It functioned 39 years until a burgeoning 300,000 item inventory required a larger space
The Third Library
1981 to Present located at 321 West 5th St.
Unique library resources include southwestern history and genealogy collections.
Book circulation and library patronage per capita are among Texas' highest.
Phone: (432) 332-0633